345 East 4th Street | Block : 374 | Lot #47
Description & Building Alterations
Currently the San Isidoro y San Leandro Orthodox Catholic Church of the Hispanic Mozarabic Rite, this unique building was originally constructed in 1891 for the Slovak and Hungarian Catholic church of the St. Elizabeth of Hungary Roman Catholic Church under the direction of the Reverend Francis Janurchek and architect Edward Wenz. The project cost $10,000. The white-painted brick building has arch openings with polychrome voussoirs. The interior has aisle walls covered in gold-framed paintings and decorative chancel.
In 1915 the rear of the building was extended. By the 1930’s the church had become the home of the Carpathian Russian Orthodox Church of the Holy Trinity, and then the Russian Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas. Through these changes the building has retained most of its original features including its Gothic styling in a tenement form, with pointed arch windows with trefoil elements. The iron gate showcases the coat of arms of the Russian Empire.
Block : 374 / Lot : 047 / Building Date : 1891 / Original Owner : Reverend Francis Janurchek / Original Use : Institutional / Original Architect : Edward Wenz