220 East 4th Street | Block : 399 | Lot #20
Description & Building Alterations
Constructed as three buildings in 1873 in a blend of Queen Anne and Romanesque Revival styles, two of the buildings were built as tenements, with stores on the ground floor and temporary housing for families above. The third building served as a school.
Shortly after construction, the building functioned as St. Joseph’s orphanage. The orphanage and school remained until the early 1960s when the orphanage appears to have left, but the school remained, along with a convent on the upper floors and a bowling alley in the basement. Presently it houses the Connelly Theater.
Block : 399 / Lot : 20 / Building Date : 1873 / Original Owner : Church of the Most Holy Redeemer / Original Use : Institutional / Original Architect : William Schickel